You are here

Cullen Tahoe City Rental Home

Add to Favorites Printer-friendly version
Expand arrival search
4 Bedrooms
2.5 Bathrooms
Sleeps 8
Get Directions

Description

 


Located just 1/2 mile south of town, this 4 bedroom/2.5 bath dog friendly Tahoe City luxury cabin rental has been extensively remodeled including kitchen, bathrooms, flooring, etc. The vacation rental features heated slate floors, granite counter tops, stainless appliances, gas fireplace, ample winter parking, and a large hot tub that backs to the forest (64 acre parcel). In the summer, the rental cabin is within walking or biking distance to Tahoe City, Bridgetender Restaurant, and the Truckee River.

*In July and early August, this home rents from Sunday to Sunday.

All Agate Bay Realty Lake Tahoe rental cabins and homes are fully equipped with free high speed wireless internet, linens, bath towels (equal to the maximum occupancy of the house), pots/pans, dishes, microwave, coffee pot, blender, toaster, TV & DVD, washer & dryer, and barbecue (many are only usable in the summer). The house will also provide a starter set of toilet paper, soap, and paper towels.

Agate Bay Realty guests can purchase Discount Lift Tickets through our office to Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley. The tickets are good everyday of the season and you save $10-$30 per ticket depending on the dates of redemption and packages.

For dog owners, get more Pet Friendly Information.

Amenities

  • Backs to Forest
  • Hot Tub
  • Extensively Remodeled Kitchen, Bathrooms, Etc.
  • Dog Friendly Cabin (dogs stay free)
  • Walk to Tahoe City (Summer)
  • Close to Hiking and Biking/Propane BBQ
  • Heated Slate Floors & New Carpet Flooring
  • Granite Counter Tops & Gas Fireplace
  • Flat Screen TV with DVD/Washer & Dryer/1800 Square Feet
  • All the homes have high speed wireless internet

Bedding Configuration

  • King (upstairs master bedroom with full bath and TV)
  • King (upstairs bedroom with attached 1/2 bath and TV)
  • Queen (downstairs bedroom with TV)
  • 2 Twins (downstairs bedroom with TV)
 


Located just 1/2 mile south of town, this 4 bedroom/2.5 bath dog friendly Tahoe City luxury cabin rental has been extensively remodeled including kitchen, bathrooms, flooring, etc. The vacation rental features heated slate floors, granite counter tops, stainless appliances, ample winter parking, and a large hot tub that backs to the forest (64 acre parcel). In the summer, the rental cabin is within walking or biking distance to Tahoe City, Bridgetender Restaurant, and the Truckee River.

*In July and early August, this home rents from Sunday to Sunday.

All Agate Bay Realty Lake Tahoe rental cabins and homes are fully equipped with free high speed wireless internet, linens, bath towels (equal to the maximum occupancy of the house), pots/pans, dishes, microwave, coffee pot, blender, toaster, TV & DVD, washer & dryer, and barbecue (many are only usable in the summer). The house will also provide a starter set of toilet paper, soap, and paper towels.

Agate Bay Realty guests can purchase Discount Lift Tickets through our office to Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley and Diamond Peak. The tickets are good everyday of the season and you save $10-$30 per ticket depending on the dates of redemption and packages.

Envision yourself looking over the crystal blue waters of Lake Tahoe, as you unplug from your smart devices and recharge your soul. We understand the wear modern life presents and specialize in delivering experiences for you and your loved ones to truly get back to nature and re-connect on a new level.

Agate Bay Realty offers Lake Tahoe vacation rental properties ranging from budget to luxury, ski leases, pet or dog friendly rentals, and Lake Tahoe real estate. Our website allows you to find the Lake Tahoe cabin, condo, or vacation rental home that best suits your specific needs based on your budget, group size, location requirements, amenities (hot tub, pool or pier access, lake view, etc.). Each listing features a Google map link of the exact property location, high resolution photo's, guest reviews, and of the vacation rental cabins and homes have virtual tours.

Call us today (800) 550-6740 if you are interested in visiting Lake Tahoe to create your perfect vacation.

Amenities

Amenities

  • Hot Tub
  • Dog Friendly
  • All Units Free Wifi

Rates

DatesNightlyWeekly
05/07/17 - 05/25/17$300
05/26/17 - 05/28/17$375
05/29/17 - 06/15/17$325
06/16/17 - 06/28/17$375$2,000
06/29/17 - 07/07/17$600$3,200
07/08/17 - 07/14/17$500$2,700
07/15/17 - 07/28/17$500$3,000
07/29/17 - 08/12/17$600$3,500
08/13/17 - 08/31/17$375$2,000
09/01/17 - 09/03/17$400$2,000

Map

Reviews

As Advertised

Reviewed on 2016-12-26 by Erin
5
House was great and just as pictured in the photos. Was stocked with all the cooking amenities you would need. Location was very convenient to downtown Tahoe City.

Well Cared for Cabin

Reviewed on 2016-12-18 by Cathy
5
This is a beautiful and cute house with the perfect amount of rooms and beds for our group. We had 3 couples and 2 single people. I loved that the house felt very homey and they weren't trying to jam pack a bunch of beds into each room or throw in mish mash decor. There were clear instructions for everything and our arrival/departure was very smooth and easy.

Wonderful Thanksgiving

Reviewed on 2016-12-10 by Reed
5
My family and I rented this property for Thanksgiving this year and made some very special memories. There were six of us, including one six-year-old child, and the space was perfect for a few days together. Not too small, and not too big to feel impersonal. The location was fantastic. The house is down a few steps from the street, making it more private; this really showcased the numerous big windows that let us enjoy the beautiful surroundings no matter where we were. The kitchen was perfect for hosting family dinners, and a substantial Thanksgiving feast. We had two dogs with us for this stay and they loved it as well. Enough yard space to play, and a nice wooded area out back for little hikes. The only downside was having to leave eventually. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Love to Return

Reviewed on 2016-10-12 by Lisa
5
What a great spot! The house is walkable to Tahoe City and also backs up to the river and trails for super easy accessibility. The house is really nice with updated details and comfortable beds. It was even good for our 1 year old son and dog. Easy check in/out and good communication. Would love to return!

As Advertised

Reviewed on 2016-10-01 by Sinead
5
The house is wonderful and cozy. exactly as shown in the pictures.

Super

Reviewed on 2016-08-21 by Rita
5
This property was super! We had a weekend retreat with our adult children and spouses and new grandson. Great kitchen was fully equipped. Internet service was fast. Bathrooms were very nice. Loved the upstairs bedrooms with skylights. Easy access to hiking trails. Would love to stay here again.

Great Stay, Close to Activities

Reviewed on 2016-06-24 by Susan
5
The house was fully furnished and easily accessible to so many activities around Tahoe City! We had an amazing time and stay at the Cullen house! House was fully equipped with amenities and we enjoyed cooking and eating meals in as well as visiting the neighboring restaurants. House is 2 minute drive from SaveMart, a short walk to a neighborhood bakery, and 5 minute drive to Common Beach. Beautiful and peaceful sitting area outside, fully shaded and a wonderful patio to enjoy dinners al fresco. Can't wait to visit again :)

Beautiful

Reviewed on 2015-09-24 by Andrew
5
The house was beautiful! Very clean, the rooms were all spacious and everything was as described. We stayed as 4 couples, and we all really enjoyed the house!

Lovely cozy and convenient

Reviewed on 2012-10-14 by A FlipKey verified reviewer of San Rafael
4
The house is lovely and nicely appointed. The two upstairs bedrooms are fantastic - large, airy, bright and with nice views. The two downstairs rooms are more pedestrian and a bit on the smallish side. Great showers! Easy walk to town. The only small thing is the quality and breadth of kitchen items. As usual in rentals, terrible knives (if driving, bring your own or you won't even be able to cut a baguette). And no wine glasses - very odd for Ca! Otherwise, a fantastic stay!
Manager response on 2012-10-14 - Response from Agate Bay Realty
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed the vies and the fantastic bedrooms. I contacted the owner and she has replaced the supply of wine glasses that apparently got depleted through the busy season. I really appreciate the information. She also bought a new set of sharp knives for the kitchen. Thank you!

Well located but some drawbacks.

Reviewed on 2012-09-30 by Terry VanderHeiden of CA
3
The Cullen house was very clean and easy to find. Lots and lots of windows to let in the light, clean hot tub. Kitchen was modern and easy to cook in. Great lighting everywhere. Lots of outlets, quite streets, nice to walk and no bugs anywhere inside!The house backs up to a forested area. One evening we even saw a large black bear stroll through the trees in the back. Pretty cool.While the home was dog friendly, the yard and most of outdoor areas are wide open, no fences. So if you have a dog that likes to escape, they will need to be in the house the whole time or on a leash when outside.My wife didn't like that most rooms upstairs didn't have window coverings. Bathroom, bedroom - exposed to the outside. I can't imagine that anyone would try to climb a tree to look in, but to her, it was unsettling. My only problem with the no window coverings was that when the sun came up it was darn bright in the bedrooms upstairs. Keep that in mind if you decide to stay up late, as you may not be able to sleep in.We called on Friday when we arrived to inquire about a late check out on Sunday (regular checkout time is 11 am wanted to leave at 1:30) we were told we had to call back on Sunday morning. That makes it a little difficult to plan so we left before 11am. I understand that a cleaning crew needs to get in before the guests arrive, but I also understand that the managers should know on Friday if they have guest coming that Sunday. That made for poor service.There was a fair amount of clean up needed to do before we left, strip beds, wash some towels, but not others, clean trash, etc. So the $200 cleaning fee was excessive.
Manager response on 2012-09-30 - Response from Agate Bay Realty
Hi Terry, Thank you so much for your comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed the kitchen, location, and windows. Thank you for letting us know about the master bedroom and bathroom windows. They are coated for privacy, but I can understand the discomfort because you couldn't have known that. So we had the owner put up some shades in both the bedroom and bathroom for a better sense of privacy, and for the early morning sun. I'm sorry we weren't able to answer your question on Friday; we do have a lot of last minute reservations so we aren't able to accommodate late check out until closer to your departure.
Please note that we don't ask you to strip the beds when you leave, and you only have to wash the spa towels if you decide to use them. The bath towels (10 sets) are washed for you. The departure list is quite brief in fact. I hope you'll stay with us again soon and we'll make sure it's clear. Thanks again!

Very comfortable and relaxing.

Reviewed on 2012-09-24 by J & B Taylor of CA
5
Our family of five recently stayed at the Cullen home. Aside from being a beautiful home and location we enjoyed all the amenities stocked in the kitchen and bathrooms. We were instantly comfortable and at ease. The location was perfect for us. We walked into Tahoe City daily to enjoy the beach, shops and restaurants. The hot tub was a daily end-of-the day activity that we all looked forward to. We would rent this home again.

Thank you!

Reviewed on 2012-09-07 by Jessica of CA
5
Our stay at the Cullen home was wonderful! The house was beautiful! We really enjoyed the hot tob overlooking the forest, the fully loaded kitchen and bbq.We could not have asked for more - thank you for your hospitality!!

Great setting for a family gathering

Reviewed on 2012-08-21 by Fan of Lake Tahoe of Illinois
4
This charming and well outfitted vacation home is within walking distance to beach, shops, the Tahoe Rim Trail, outdoor events and activites and is tucked in a wilderness setting. It is well-designed to encourage group activities and conversation both indoors and outdoors.

Convenience and comfort in Tahoe City

Reviewed on 2012-08-20 by A FlipKey verified reviewer of Boston
5
We were a fairly large party requiring four bedrooms and at least two bathrooms (one ensuite). The Cullen house was perfect! It was an easy walk to the Tahoe House for coffee and pastry in the morning--not that anyone *needed* to go there; the kitchen was unusually well equipped for a rental and easy for a number of us to work in together. We could also walk from the house onto a network of woodsy trails or into Tahoe City. We loved the hot tub, and all the beds and bedding were quite comfortable. Honestly, it felt just like a home away from home. There was one problem (the battery in the smoke detector), and even though this occurred after hours, Agate Bay Realty fixed it promptly. While there, they noticed we were low on propane, and they fixed that, too.The one drawback was a four day minimum rental, when we really would have preferred only three days.In a party needing four bedrooms and a four-night stay, I would stay there again in a heartbeat, and I would certainly recommend it to other parties of that size.

Charming modern home in a fantastic location

Reviewed on 2012-08-08 by A FlipKey verified reviewer of Redondo Beach CA
5
We visited Tahoe with our two small kids (under 10) and friends and family. The house is perfect for two small families. The upstairs bedrooms are spacious and the master has an amazing view. Besides the modern amenities of the house, the location is great. You can take hikes around the neighborhood, walk down to the Truckee River on a path down the back, but best of all you can walk right into Tahoe City with its restaurants and stores and public beach and park. We want to come back to the house every summer!

Summer Fun in Tahoe City!

Reviewed on 2012-07-31 by Margaret of MA
4
this house suited two couples and two additional singles very well - which is not really how it was described. we originally had another couple joining us and it would've been tight. one other note - the semi-open bathroom in the upstairs right bathroom was not appreciated... might want to disclose that when describing... No privacy there! otherwise it was perfectly located, great kitchen and we had a blast!
Manager response on 2012-07-31 - Response from Agate Bay Realty
Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm so glad you had a blast. The house has four bedrooms and has a very accurate bedding configuration description, so hopefully you were able to use that to determine the proper group size. The upstairs master bedroom on the right with the attached bathroom has a full sized regular door between it and the master bedroom, and the bedroom has a door to the hallway also. The other upstairs bedroom also has a door, and the hallway half bath has a pocket door, so your issue with privacy is a little confusing. Perhaps you didn't see the pocket door for the hallway bath? I'm not sure. Thank you again for staying with us!

Very comfortable, relaxing and truly enjoyable!

Reviewed on 2012-07-25 by Barb of CA
5
Thank you allowing us to rent this lovely home. Every day was filled with activity and every evening was restful and quiet. Our family had a wonderful, truly enjoyable stay. We lacked for nothing - the home was well stocked with essentials and cooking was easy for Bbq'ing or breakfast. We had a slight problem with the key on arrival, but fortunately the neighbor had a key that worked! Once we learned how to giggle the key, it was a snap!

Fabulous

Reviewed on 2012-07-08 by John and Robin Rutherfoord of AZ
5
The Cullen house was one of the most wonderful, comfortable, peaceful places we have stayed in a long time. It has everything you could want-great kitchen, comfortable beds, space to relax outside. June in Tahoe for a Southern arizona family is delightful-cool during the day for outdoor activities; chilly at night for the hot tub. The house is close to town and bike paths and right next to the park. We walked everywhere with our dogs (they had a great time too). I'd like to come back for the entire month next time.Thank you so much.

Great location but not very practical

Reviewed on 2012-07-08 by Rachelle of CA
3
Four adults and two kids stayed in the Cullen house for a week in July 2012. The house is very well appointed and has a comfortable floor plan. A word of caution is that there are very limited window coverings and no coverings on the many skylights and windows in the upstairs master and second bathroom. It is great if you like waking up at the crack of dawn but could be distracting if you are looking for a bit of a rest. Also, the bedrooms downstairs are very noisy. You constantly hear the hot tub heater and water through the pipes. The location is great and the neighbors are very nice.

Very Cold

Reviewed on 2011-12-11 by A FlipKey verified reviewer of Sonoma
1
The house is charming but the heat to the upstairs is not nearly sufficient to heat those rooms. A very big problem in the winter.It really ruined the trip.Also, I would cut out the cedar scented odor sticks, Someone was allergic to cedar and had asthma problems.
Manager response on 2011-12-11 - Response from Agate Bay Realty
Thank you for the feedback. Like we mentioned if guests leave the gas fireplace or heater floors on the main level too long, it will not allow the furnace thermostat to engage to heat the upstairs. One of the benefits of the house is being able to fine tune the heat but if the lower level gets too much heat it makes the upstairs cold.

Amazing!

Reviewed on 2011-10-29 by A FlipKey verified reviewer of Brentwood
5
Looking on internet for a place to stay can be a little scary as you never quite know what you are going to find when you arrive, but the Cullen property was just like the pictures! It was clean, and ready for us to relax! We brought dogs with us, and it was perfect for them. The home had a little grass area right outside, and the home is hidden from the road. Beds were comfortable, and kitchen fully stocked with dishes etc. Wonderful location--minutes from restaurants and lake. Agate Bay realty was also amazing, we had a little misunderstanding on our part and they were so accommodating! We will definitely be staying here again!

Great place

Reviewed on 2011-10-19 by Randy of CA
5
This house was awesome, close to town but far enough from the road to be quiet. Outdoor seating areas are beautifully landscaped, and the kitchen is fantastic. Great place for a Tahoe get away.

Sibling Reunion

Reviewed on 2011-09-20 by Sue of California
4
We had a lovely time at the Cullen home. Beautiful kitchen, the home was so charming and welcoming. We all felt so at home.

Great Time

Reviewed on 2010-10-15 by A FlipKey verified reviewer of Brentwood
5
The Cullen Home was a great Home away From Home. It was stocked with everything we needed. What a great place. It was beautiful--We would all enjoy staying there again.

Great Tahoe City vacation home

Reviewed on 2010-09-22 by Jim of CA
4
We enjoyed our stay at the Cullen home very much. It was very well equipped, the bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, however, for our family the living space was much too small. The dining space fit us with the leaf in, but it had to be put in and taken out when the table was not in use. The outdoor living space was delightful and the location couldn't have been better. We would return if our entire family wasn't going to come.

A Great Find!

Reviewed on 2010-09-21 by A FlipKey verified reviewer of San Francisco
4
(We actually were there with our college-aged kids.)We loved it and hope to go back for a longer stay next summer. Enjoyed the outdoor spaces and the open floor plan inside. Lots of nice decorating touches and comfortable feel of a lived in home. Great location. Loved walking to the Tahoe Bakery and loading up on goodies everyday. A few glitches such as oven not working, but we didn't mind what with the great barbeque and the overall benefits of the house. Better get my calendar to book for next year!

Disappointing

Reviewed on 2010-09-19 by Renter of CA
2
Photos online charming. Tv mounted too high for comfortable viewing. Seating broken down, upholstery worn out. Carpeting very very dirty. Oven only worked on broil, not bake or roast. All towels in dryer for us to fold and distribute. Liquid soap in bathrooms watered down.Location very convenient to Tahoe City, yard was great. Firepit got watered by sprinkler every day, so we had to empty to start fires at night.Homeowner or rental agency needs to correct problems. Otherwise, it would be a nice rental.
Manager response on 2010-09-19 - Response from Agate Bay Realty
We appreciate your feedback, and based on your inconvenience with the towels we refunded half of your cleaning fee. Unfortunately the housekeeper did not realize that a previous guest had added water to the soap dispenser. She'll definitely check from now on! Also, we've asked the owner to add instructions next to the TV on how to pull out and tilt down the mounting brackets. Thank you again for your comments!

Great location and great home.

Reviewed on 2009-10-07 by Food Tour 2009 of CA
5
Comfortable home in a great location. Friend get together in September 2009 with 8 adults staying for an extended weekend. Plenty of room for us to gather and spacious enough to separate for awhile, when needed. Very close to the lake and close to many restaurants. We all went rafting down the Truckee River, which was only 20 minutes away. About one hour from the Reno airport. Great way to experience beautiful Lake Tahoe! We would definitely stay at the Cullen home again.

Great Family/Dog Friendly Home!

Reviewed on 2009-08-08 by kasper529 of CA
5
Our stay at the Cullen house was wonderful! We were a party of 8 with two small dogs and we felt very comfortable here! The home was well equipped for all of our homemade meals,so we now know that we don't have to bring the kitchen sink up next time. We loved how close we were to everything Tahoe City has to offer, literally walking distance to the paths to the river. We look forward to renting this home again next summer!! The only downside was the cleanliness of the floors, and the garbage compactor kept breaking. But those are minor compared to our great time spent with friends.

Nice house, but needs some work

Reviewed on 2009-08-08 by A FlipKey verified reviewer of Las Vegas
3
The house was advertised well - but being "pet friendly", it smelled downstairs, and the downstairs carpets were stained pretty badly. Need to update the furniture downstairs. Kitchen was very nice, and the upstairs as well.
Manager response on 2009-08-08 - Response from Agate Bay Realty
Thank you for your review and staying at the home. We wanted to let you know were unable to get the carpets cleaned prior to your arrival because the previous guest checked out that same morning and the carpets need 24 hours to dry. We did not notice any smell but rather just traffic stains. Please keep in mind we also gave you one free night as well. Thank you again for staying at the Cullen home.

Beautiful, comfortable

Reviewed on 2009-06-27 by A FlipKey verified reviewer of Sacramento
5
Everything was very nice. The home was comfortable for our large family. We enjoyed the kitchen & dining table, the hot tub, the patios. Love the location with the easy walk into town.Would enjoy going again.

Great Winter Rental

Reviewed on 2009-06-10 by A FlipKey verified reviewer of San Francisco
5
This home is fantastic for a winter family rental. The two upstairs bedrooms are large with wonderful views. The house is cozy and warm. The slate floor is heated so when you come in from the snow it is toasty on your tootsies and will the floor will dry your wet gloves and boots while you are relaxing. The kitchen is well equipped (with copper pots) and great for preparing family meals. A fantastic organic grocery store is less than a 10 minute walk away. The neighbors are friendly. The only drawback for our stay was that we had to find shovels and shovel out the entrances ourselves (numerous times over the snowy week) - which is hard work and something I would expect the management to do at least once.
Manager response on 2009-06-10 - Response from Agate Bay Realty
Lorraine,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the Cullen home. We do have the walkways and driveways shoveled immediately prior to each guests stay so people can access the home safely and conveniently but once the guest is occupying the home, they are responsible for shoveling the walkways themselves. The contractor will always clear the driveway of snow however.

great home

Reviewed on 2009-06-10 by santa rosa of ca
3
The home was wonderful, well equipped, walk to natural grocery store, walk to hiking trails, good parking.The rental agency was awful, accused us of stealing and breaking things, they should do a better job of inventory each time they have guests!
Manager response on 2009-06-10 - Response from Agate Bay Realty
Shamai,

Thank you for staying at the Cullen home. Just for clarification, there were items that were damaged during your stay that were noted by both the housekeeper and us but you were not charged because these items were considered to be towards the end of their useful lives.

Nice master suites

Reviewed on 2009-06-04 by Reynolds family of CA
4
We celecbrated my husband's birthday at the house with all the kids and grandkids. The home fit us all well and was conveniently located to the bike trail and lake. Being on the edge of forest was a plus. The master suites upstairs were really nice and we enjoyed the patio and yard.

Amazing experience, gorgeous property

Reviewed on 2009-06-03 by Kailey of California
5
We had a wonderful family get together here around Thanksgiving and the experience was priceless. The home itself is incredible, in perfect condition, very well done and ideal. Enjoy!!!

Clean, Quiet, Walk to town

Reviewed on 2009-06-03 by Al Todd of California
5
My wife and I and two other couples stayed a long week-end at the Cullen House. We found it clean, comfortable, and quiet. It is near town so that we could walk to restaurants, etc. It had just about every convenience imaginable including very comfortable beds.Highly recommended.

Amazing experience, gorgeous property

Reviewed on 2009-06-03 by Kailey of California
5
We had a wonderful family get together here around Thanksgiving and the experience was priceless. The home itself is incredible, in perfect condition, very well done and ideal. Enjoy!!!