You are here

Butterfield Ski Lease Cabin - Hot Tub

Add to Favorites Printer-friendly version
Expand arrival search
3 Bedrooms
2 Bathrooms
Sleeps 9
Get Directions



Ski Lease:The cabin is available for ski lease from Jan 4, 2020 to May 3, 2020 for $3000 a month View the terms and conditions of a ski lease and winter activities

Located on a corner lot, this three bedroom/two bath pet friendly ski lease cabin features newer flooring, brand new redwood deck with hot tub and patio furniture, rock fireplace and HD TV in the living room, good winter access, and a loft area for extra living space. The pet friendly vacation rental cabin is located in Agate Bay (between Tahoe Vista and Carnelian Bay on the north shore of Lake Tahoe) and is centrally located to Northstar California, Alpine Meadows, and Squaw Valley.

*For larger groups including weddings and family reunions, this pet friendly vacation rental is 5 doors down from the Empey North Tahoe Vacation Rental and the Kimball dog friendly vacation rental.

Get more Pet Friendly Information and winter activities and the rental cabin is close to north Tahoe ski areas.

All Agate Bay Realty vacation rental homes are fully equipped with free high speed wireless internet, linens, bath towels (equal to the maximum occupancy of the house), pots/pans, dishes, microwave, coffee pot, blender, toaster, TV & DVD, washer & dryer, and barbeque (many are only usable in the summer). The house will also provide a starter set of toilet paper, soap, and paper towels.


  • Centrally Located to Northstar California, Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley
  • New Hot Tub and Redwood Decks
  • Pet Friendly (dogs stay free)
  • Open floor plan
  • Rock fireplace
  • Vaulted Ceilings
  • Books & Games for Children
  • Flat Screen TV & DVD in Living Room, TV & DVD in Upstairs Bedroom
  • Washer & Dryer/Propane BBQ (summer)
  • All the homes have high speed wireless internet
  • Discount Lift Tickets Available
  • 1640 Square Feet

Cabin Bedding Configuration

  • Queen (downstairs bedroom)
  • Queen (downstairs bedroom)
  • 4 Twins (upstairs bedroom) + TV/DVD
  • Hide-a-Bed (loft) 



  • Hot Tub
  • Dog Friendly
  • All Units Free Wifi


01/04/20 - 05/03/20$3,000



Perfect Location

Reviewed on 2016-05-31 by Adam
The cabin was great, perfect location with an awesome pizza place and lake side dining in 5 minutes travel. Home has many things for family and friends to enjoy and kids to include the hot tub which was very nice. We all were very pleased with our stay and recommend this property

The Carnelian Bay house was amazing!

Reviewed on 2016-04-23 by Giovanni B
The Carnelian Bay house was amazing! It is even more beautiful than the pictures. Agate was awesome. They let us check an hour early as there was no guest the day before and they let us leave a couple hours late when we asked ahead of time. There was an issue with the garbage disposal not working when we got there and Agate offered to send someone to fix it although it was not necessary. I was just calling to inform them of the problem. The house itself was far enough away from the neighbors that it felt like our own little getaway. The master bedroom had 5 beds in it including the main bed, which is perfect for a family if that is what you need. The room above the garage had 2 beds and an L shaped couch that could have slept two. Overall, there was a ton of sleeping space and the games in the garage were super fun. Hot Tub was perfect and so relaxing after a nice walk. House is only 9mins away from the lake but I would recommend Google Mapping it so you find it quickly. Thank you so much Agate Bay for making our trip amazing!

Wonderful Experience

Reviewed on 2015-11-30 by Wenhan
Wonderful experience! Room was clean and cozy. They have lot of pans, bowls, glass, knifes, etc. it very convenient to cook. Hot tub was so cool! Thank you!

Great getaway

Reviewed on 2012-07-31 by A FlipKey verified reviewer of San Francisco
We rented this house with another couple to celebrate a 30th birthday and couldn't have asked for more! Coming from the city, we wanted a deck so that we could sit outside an enjoy meals, a bbq for grilling and a hot tub for the chilly nights. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking, complete with condiments, spices and grilling tools. There was access to the pool, private beach club, and tennis. It was also central for many hiking trails and King's beach.

Great little rustic cabin

Reviewed on 2011-07-17 by A FlipKey verified reviewer of Los Angeles
We had a wonderful stay at the Butterfield. The deck was great for dining. The hot tub was wonderful after a day at the lake. The living room was comfy and warm. The kitchen is small but well equipped. It suited our needs perfectly for a nice quiet little get away. My only minor complaint is that It was a tiny bit smaller than I imagined, however it was perfect for the four of us.

Family Time

Reviewed on 2011-06-29 by fun 5 of CA
Nice house for the price. Glad we stayed here. Beds were a little soft, but other than that, the house was very comfortable.

Lovely place to enjoy the snow

Reviewed on 2011-01-09 by Vicki from PTown of Ca
We stayed at the Butterfield between Christmas and New Years. We had two grandmothers, two couples, and one 15 year old. There was plenty of room for all of us. The house, though not modern, had a beautiful floor to roof top window where we could enjoy the foot and 1/2 of snow that fell over night while we were there. The fireplace was stocked with lots of wood which came in very handy! The kitchen was well stocked with plates and utinsels. We took our left over Christmas dinner up with us and enjoyed the left overs surround by beautiful scenery. The snow plows came and made it easier for my wonderful husband who had to deal with the chains for two cars!! Overall a very memorable and wonderful stay.


Reviewed on 2011-01-09 by Jen M of CA
We had a wonderful time staying at the Butterfield over New Year's Eve 2010! The home is well-equipped with everything we needed -- firewood, towels, linens, kitchen equipment, etc. We so enjoyed the hot tub and fireplace and cooked many delicious meals in the kitchen. Then beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were clean and spacious. Excellent accommodations and service.

Great Location!

Reviewed on 2011-01-09 by Cheryl of CA
I really enjoyed staying here especially because of the location of the home. It is very close (15 mins) to the Safeway grocery store and the Northstar Ski Resort. The size and comfort were pretty good and we really enjoyed the amenities such as the fireplace and the backyard. The only thing that we found a bit troublesome is that, although the cleanliness of the place was pretty good, it seemed that there was a bit of dust in the rooms and it gave some of us allergies. Other than that, the kitchen, bathrooms, living room and pretty much every other living space was very clean and comfortable. I would definitively stay here again! The service we received was amazing, they answered all of our questions and we had a great time!!

Love agate Bay, house not so much...

Reviewed on 2010-09-15 by Looking for the perfect rental of Ca
We love agate Bay but haven't found the perfect rental. This house was very clean but it needs a lot of TLC. The bedding is horrible, I recommend you bring your own. Cooking utensils are cheap and worn, don't plan on cutting anything with the knives, they need to be sharpened or replaced. Upstairs bathroom leaked into bottom bathroom, plumber said the wax ring was bad. Tv faded in and out, never did figure out why. Just lots of little things...not good when your spending over 2k for 6 nights! If the owners spend a little money this place would be great. Very sunny, nice location. If you stretch really hard you can see the lake!
Manager response on 2010-09-15 - Response from Agate Bay Realty
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated as it enables us to make improvements that we wouldn't otherwise know are necessary. The tv problem was related to the low quality of HD availability in the area, which has since been resolved. The plumber did replace the wax seal as a precaution but indicated to us that the leak was due to the toilet repeatedly overflowing during your stay, as you had indicated to the plumber. Please note that you were not charged for the plumber's visit or the ensuing damage, but in the future please do contact the office sooner rather than later if there is a plumbing issue. Thank you again!

Dated T.V.s / Uncomfortable Living furniture and sapping deck

Reviewed on 2009-09-30 by A FlipKey verified reviewer of Elk Grove
For the most part the time spent at this home was enjoyable.The furniture was very uncomfortable, and the T.V. was very small for todays standards.The deck was nice, with the exception that the Realter should have removed the tree sap that was on the floor of the deck, as it kept us from using the table and chairs on that side of the deck. Our dogs kept getting it all over their feet, which they did not like. Other than that the home was nice, if these things were corrected, I would stay there again, but if not I would not recomend staying.
Manager response on 2009-09-30 - Response from Agate Bay Realty
Thank you for your review. We do spray off the decks and patio furniture of pollen during the summer but many times additional pollen and sap drops on the deck during your stay because of the trees adjacent to the deck.

A rented vacation home that required work from us.....

Reviewed on 2009-08-17 by A FlipKey verified reviewer of Bay Area
The home is beautiful but poorly maintained. The toilets were clogged, the stove only had 2 burners that worked.(yes I did push in the electric conductors) The fuses blew several times during the week without any extra electrical devices plugged in. The biggest problem was the spa. On the last evening my daughter developed a rash that later turned into puss filled red bumps all over her waiste, arms and legs. The doctor's said it was a staph infection from the spa. the last day we were there we looked for chlorine but to no avail. We could only surmise that they empited the spa weekly as opposed to weekly maintaining the proper chemical balance. Or perhaps the weekly/monthly spa treatment was missed. Not sure. No we won't return to this home.
Manager response on 2009-08-17 - Response from Agate Bay Realty
Thank you for staying at the Butterfield home. We did some investigation into the issues that you mention. The spa, like all the spa's, are serviced prior to each guests arrival and departure. Lake Tahoe Spa Company indicated that the water was a real good condition on August 1st but the hot tub needed a dump & scrub on August 8th when you departed. The tub has an automatic bromine feeder so you would notice chlorine. In turn, it seems that the cause may have been one or some of your children in your group may have urinated in the hot tub or people were not using the tub properly. This also make sense because your daughter didn't get the rash at the beginning of the week when you checked in but rather on your last night. This also substantiates Lake Tahoe Spa Company's records that the tub was clean upon your arrival. As far as the oven burners, we have had two additional tenants come in the home and they have indicated all the burners are working. Lastly, toilets are typically clogged by guests accidentally putting too much in the toilet or something that doesn't belong in the toilet not by the toilet themselves. The entire sewer line was replaced in June 2009 so everything has been working real well before and after your stay. Thank you again for staying.

The place I would like to come back every year

Reviewed on 2009-08-02 by A FlipKey verified reviewer of san francisco
Excellent home, very clean, very convinience.The only thing is I lelf my pillow from my bed set. I called the management company but they have never returned to me.
Manager response on 2009-08-02 - Response from Agate Bay Realty
Thank you for the review. As we mentioned, unfortunately the housekeeper never found your pillow in the home. If it turns up, we can contact you. Thank you again for staying with us.

Home Away from Home

Reviewed on 2009-06-12 by Aprileeta of CA
Independence Day has always been my holiday and I can't imagine a better place to spend it than Agate Bay in Tahoe. I booked the Butterfield Home through for a group of friends and we could not have imagined a nicer place to stay. The house felt incredibly homey and came with everything we could have asked for. We had a great time grilling out, relaxing in the hot tub and visiting the nearby pool. The ice cream shop and beach volleyball court were great added perks too. Butterfield itself had everything we needed. It was in great condition and spotless when we arrived. The layout was perfect for our group and the house's living room was a comfortable spot to hang out and play games after a day in the sun. We look forward to returning to Butterfield again and again in the future! Thanks so much!

Great location, great for pets

Reviewed on 2009-06-10 by Pat and Bob of cA
We had a wonderful time and would come back again. We've been at this property several times and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great home and vacation experience.


Reviewed on 2009-06-03 by CHRIS of CA
This house is great, we spent a week with our 2 golden retrievers. loved the nice quiet neighborhood, views of lake from deck. The location is excellent, everything on the north shore is very accessible. The dogs were very comfortable there also and enjoyed the walks you can take from the house....Hot tub was a nice way to relax under the stars after dinner each night. We can't wait to get back!


Reviewed on 2009-06-03 by CHRIS of CA
This house is great, we spent a week with our 2 golden retrievers. loved the nice quiet neighborhood, views of lake from deck. The location is excellent, everything on the north shore is very accessible. The dogs were very comfortable there also and enjoyed the walks you can take from the house....Hot tub was a nice way to relax under the stars after dinner each night. We can't wait to get back!